• Get news and resources for human rights grantmakers. Subscribe Now
Human Rights DefendersExternal Events; Webinars

WEBINAR: Supporting resilient activism: addressing the wellbeing of human rights defenders

Supporting resilient activism: addressing the wellbeing of human rights defenders

Friday the 20th of September, 10:00am EST (15.00 BST, 16.00 CEST)

Register

Recent research has shown that many human rights defenders are suffering PTSD, depression, and burnout as a result of the risks and stress of their work. Without adequate mental health support for activists, it could be difficult to sustain the human rights movement at a time when threats and risks of activism are increasing. How can funders take the wellbeing of activists into account through their funding? What are good practices to ensure that funders are doing no harm, and what are the options for actively supporting the resilience of activists to continue their work? Join us for this webinar to learn more about the findings of the research and hear from peer donors about their efforts to integrate an awareness of wellbeing into their work.

Speakers:

  • Adam Brown, Associate Professor of Psychology, New School for Social Research
  • Marianne Mollmann, Director of Regional Programs, Fund for Global Human Rights
  • Magda Adamowicz, Senior Program Specialist, Open Society Foundations

The webinar is co-sponsored by Ariadne and will be moderated by Julie Broome, Ariadne Director.

Please register here.