skip to Main Content
20 July 2022
4:30 p.m. CET | 10:30 a.m. ET | 7:30 a.m. PT

From the Frontlines: Funder Briefing on Ukraine’s regional impact

Events Closing Civic Space HRD's

On 20 July, 2022, Ariadne, EDGE, Gender Funders CoLab, HRFN, and Prospera – International Network of Women’s Funds held a virtual briefing from VOICE Amplified on their latest report, When the Sky Closes: The Unprecedented Crisis Facing Women and Girls Fleeing Ukraine.

In this session, we spoke directly with grassroots frontline responders and with the VOICE Amplified team to:

  1. Understand the day-to-day lived reality of organizing in the region today;
  2. Hear what forms of funding and funder solidarity have been most effective and what is needed to support feminist, LGBTQ+, and gender justice activists in conflict;
  3. Discuss the current context and potential scenarios in the region for which local women’s rights, feminist, and gender justice movements are preparing now;
  4. Explore how philanthropy can be in solidarity and action with intersectional feminist and gender justice movements, as well as local communities and people on margins affected by the ongoing war in Ukraine.

For those who could not join, here you can find the recording of the conversation, and  listen to and learn from Olena Shevchenko from NGO Insight and Women’s March, Anastasiia Danilova from Genderdoc-M, and Zsofia Balogh from Patent/Emma.

If you would like to learn more about the impact of the war on Moldova, Poland, Romania, Hungary, Slovakia and Ukraine, please check VOICE’s 7-piece report Waiting for the Sky to Close: The Unprecedented Crisis Facing Women and Girls Fleeing Ukraine.

Thanks again for your solidarity, intentionality and support to movements and communities affected by the war in Ukraine!

 

Back To Top