skip to Main Content
21 June 2022
6:30 PM IST | 2:00 PM BST | 9:00 AM EST

The Impact of COVID-19 School Closures on Child Protection and Education Inequalities in Humanitarian Settings: Recommendations for Action

Events Funding Ecosystem

Hosted by Elevate Children Funders Group


In 2020, schools around the world closed their doors to students in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic. For all children, prolonged school closures risk creating detrimental impacts on learning, wellbeing, and protection. For children living in humanitarian contexts around the world, evidence suggests that the impact of prolonged closures and remote learning has been devastating.

Throughout 2021, child-centred, participatory research was conducted by national research teams in Colombia, Lebanon, and the Democratic Republic of Congo. The goal of the study was to better understand the impact of school closures on children’s wellbeing, protection, and education inequalities.

Join us to hear from the research team as they share key findings and recommendations from the study.

During the panel, we invite you to challenge and debate alongside respected panellists from across the health, education, and child protection sectors. We are excited to explore together how to best take these recommendations forward to ensure that children and their holistic well-being are at the centre of decision-making and planning processes in both the current and future infectious disease outbreaks.

Upcoming Events
Back To Top