• Get news and resources for human rights grantmakers. Subscribe Now

Events

Human Rights Funders Network offers a variety of in-person and virtual events for funders around the world to connect, learn, and forge collaborations.

Share: Have an idea for an event or want to publicize one? Let us know here.

Learn: Read takeaways from past HRFN conferences here.

Find: Looking for conferences and meetings? Check out our regularly-updated Community Events list.

No Upcoming Events.
Nov04
11:00 EDT/15:00 GMT/16:00 CET (Past Event)

How can funders protect the Youth Climate Movement?

This webinar was organized by Wellspring Philanthropic Fund and was co-hosted by Ariadne and the Human Rights Funders Network (HRFN). _____________ The Youth Climate Movement (YCM) is one of the most important movements of our time. Over the past few years youth activists have demonstrated the power to fundamentally shift climate narratives and galvanise public,…

Past Events

Oct19
8:00 – 9:00 PT │11:00 – 12:00 ET │16:00 – 17:00 BST

LGBTQI Rights and the Power of Following the Funding

Power in Numbers: Evidence-based advocacy to move money to social justice movements This two-part series is about how we change the narrative and move more money to the forefront of social change.  This is the second session, visit Mapping Funding: Black feminist activism, disability rights, and regional funding disparities to learn about part one. Scroll…

Sep28
8:00 – 9:00 PT │11:00 – 12:00 ET │16:00 – 17:00 BST

Mapping Funding: Black Feminist Activism, Disability Rights, and Regional Funding Disparities

Power in Numbers: Evidence-based advocacy to move money to social justice movements This two-part series is about how we change the narrative and move more money to the forefront of social change. This is the first session, visit LGBTQI rights and the power of following the funding to learn about part two. Scroll down to…

Aug26
2:00pm CST/ 1:00pm ET/ 10:00am PT

Impactos da COVID-19 e a filantropia para a justiça social no Brasil

Impacts of COVID-19 and philanthropy for social justice in Brazil Join Baobá Fund for Racial Equity, Brazil Human Rights Fund and House Socio-Environmental Fund for the launch of an innovative philanthropic collaborative for social justice.  The event will be held via Zoom and English interpretation will be available. Register here.

Aug19
12:30 PST | 3:30 EST

Where is the Money for Black Feminist Organizing?

On the State of Human Rights Funding: Where is the Money for Black Feminist Organizing? As we move through #BlackPhilanthropyMonth, Black Feminist Fund co-founder, Hakima Abbas will be joined by deputy director of HRFN, Kellea Miller for a live converation to discuss our collaborative research “On the State of Human Rights Funding: Where is the…

Aug05
10:00-11:00 ET│15:00-16:00 BST│16:00-17:00 CEST (Past Event)

Advancing Human Rights: Research Briefing

Join us to discuss findings from our latest analysis of the human rights funding landscape: Advancing Human Rights: Annual Review of Global Foundation Grantmaking – 2018 Key Findings. The report, authored by HRFN and Candid, sheds light on which issues get funded and which don’t, where human rights issues overlap and intersect, and how funding…

Jun22
10:30-11:30 ET│16:30-17:30 CEST (Past Event)

Alternative Approaches to Addressing Violence Against Human Rights Defenders

Join us for a webinar drawing on the experiences of the Zero Tolerance Initiative, a rights holders’ response to the gaps in the Human Rights Council’s resolution on environmental defenders, and other existing efforts to protect defenders in relation to business projects. The webinar will draw on the situation in Peru in particular, to illustrate…

Jun16
Webinars8:00-9:00 PT │ 11:00-12:00 ET │ 16:00-17:00 BST

Measuring Human Rights: Tools for Informed Philanthropy

Join us on Wednesday, June 16, for a discussion with the Human Rights Measurement Initiative (HRMI) to learn about their global platform to track the ups, downs, and overall trends in how countries around the world are – or aren’t – meeting their human rights commitments. During this 60-minute conversation, we’ll unpack what information HRMI captures and…

May20
Webinars10 am - 11:30 am Eastern Time (Past Event)

African Futures

Fatimah Kelleher writes: “…from Ghana to South Africa, women across Africa are resisting orthodox economic models and coming up with visionary alternatives towards an African ecofeminist future.” Throughout the African region, self-led and self-determined movements are redefining African futures. Land defenders are fighting  state -sponsored land grabs. LGBTQI communities are  organizing  (and winning!) to overturn…

May13
1 pm Eastern Time | 12 pm COT - (Past Event)

LitTalks NOW: What is Happening in Colombia?

At HRFN, the unfolding human rights crisis in Colombia is personal. Executive Director, Ana María Enríquez, lives in Medellín and has been closely monitoring the escalating attacks on protesters and local and national responses — both those of solidarity and of militarization. Join Ana María this Thursday, 13 May at 1 p.m. ET, 12 p.m….