skip to Main Content
04 May 2022
4:00- 5:30 PM EAT | 6:30-8:00 PM IST | 9:00- 10:30 AM EST

Girls’ Sexuality and Child, Early and Forced Marriages and Unions: A Conceptual Framework

Events Intersectionality

Please join the Child, Early and Forced Marriage and Unions (CEFMU) and Sexuality Working Group, Global Affairs Canada and collaborating organizations for the launch of the new conceptual framework on sexuality and CEFMU! 

We’ll talk about:

  • What a vision of success for holistic, sustainable CEFMU prevention looks like, based on our consultations with girls in India, Niger and Guatemala.
  • How social norms and structures rooted in patriarchy, social hierarchy and adultism lead to societal control of girls’ sexuality and drive CEFMU.
  • How gender-transformative approaches can challenge harmful norms to break the patterns that drive CEFMU, and how organizations can bring these approaches into their programming.
  • What roles funders and researchers can play to increase resources for and knowledge about what works best to create deep and lasting change for girls and women.

We’ll hear from Working Group members from around the globe, followed by reflections from Kathleen Flynn of Global Affairs Canada, and a question and answer session with the audience.

For more information, please contact Sarah Green at sgreen@ajws.org.

Back To Top